Transit of Venus

The Christian Science Monitor provides a realistic guide on the Transit of Venus, a truly once-in-a-lifetime event…

Today’s historic Venus transit is a marathon event lasting nearly seven hours, but skywatchers who don’t have that kind of time can break it down into a handful of key milestones.

NASA’s planetary scientist Lori Glaze discusses the transit of Venus. Venus treks across the sun’s face from Earth’s perspective today (June 5; June 6 in much of the Eastern Hemisphere), marking the last such Venus transit until 2117. Few people alive today will be around to see the next transit, which makes the rare celestial sight a premier event in the astronomical and skywatching communities.

The Venus-sun show will begin around 6 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT) and end at roughly 12:50 a.m. EDT (0450 GMT) Wednesday, with the exact timing varying by a few minutes from point to point around the globe.

There’s plenty of activity surrounding this event, so get out there!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply